AMA Delegation Summary Report

The House of Delegates is the policy-setting body of the American Medical Association (AMA). The Academy has four voting delegates, alternate delegates, young physician delegate, and resident/fellow delegate. AAN's delegate count is determined by how many Academy members are also members of the AMA. The following is a summary of the November 2022 Interim Meeting of the House of Delegates.

<u>Highlights</u>

- AAN's delegation to this meeting included Mark J. Milstein, MD, FAAN (chair); Shannon M. Kilgore, MD, FAAN (vice-chair); Barry M. Czeisler, MD, MS (delegate); Jonathan Santoro, MD (delegate, Young Physician Section delegate), Eva K. Ritzl, MD, FAAN (alternate); and Ankita Brahmaroutu, MD (alternate, Resident and Fellow Section delegate).
- AMA President Jack Resneck Jr., MD, <u>spoke</u> about the key issues facing the practice of medicine and reiterated the key goals of the AMA as outlined by its <u>Recovery Plan for America's Physicians</u>, which focuses on fixing prior authorization, reforming Medicare payments, fighting scope creep, supporting telehealth, and reducing physician burnout.
- AAN delegation vice-chair Dr. Kilgore secured key endorsements from the Neurology Section Council and Specialty and Service Society for her upcoming re-election campaign to the AMA <u>Council on</u> <u>Medical Education</u>, which will take place in June 2023.

Meeting Outcomes

Key topics of this meeting spanned a wide range of issues, including:

- **PBMs (AAN cosponsored)**: adopted policy recommending that third-party pharmacy benefit administrators that contract to manage the specialty pharmacy portion of drug formularies be subject to the same licensing, registration, and transparency requirements.
- **Protecting Patient-Physician Relationship**: adopted <u>policy</u> to work against all policies or laws that exact punishment against clinicians or their patients in the event a woman loses a pregnancy as a result of medically necessary care, such as treatment for cancer.
- **Firearms**: <u>established a task force</u> to focus on firearm-violence prevention, including firearm-involved suicide, and adopted policy to support and consider providing grants to evidence-based firearm violence-interruption programs in communities, schools, hospitals and clinics.
- **GME Funding:** adopted policy to publicize best practice examples of state-funded Graduate Medical Education positions and develop model state legislation where appropriate.
- **IMGs:** adopted policy to support federal legislation that reduces the paperwork burden on hiring of International Medical Graduates in rural communities.
- **Scope of Practice:** adopted policy promoting physician supervision of health care providers in an emergency room setting.
- **Public Option:** the HOD had a significant <u>debate</u> on a public insurance option, ultimately adopting a slight change to existing policy, which "advocate[s] for a pluralistic healthcare system, which may include a public option, that focuses on increasing equity and access, is cost conscious, and reduces burden on physicians.
- Policies relating to Brain Health:
 - Adopted policy to support ending daylight saving time and shift permanently to standard time.
 - Adopted policy to advocate for a <u>50% reduction in greenhouse emissions</u> by 2030, which builds on AMA's declaration that climate change is a public health crisis and urging carbon neutrality by 2050.
- Policies relating to Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Anti-racism, and Social Justice (IDEAS):
 - Ensure pulse-oximeter technology accuracy, regardless of skin pigmentation.
 - Eliminate questioning about or discrimination based on American Indian and Alaska Native blood quantum during the medical training process.
- Other significant issues, <u>summarized here.</u>

Upcoming Meetings

- 2023 Annual Meeting: June 10-14 in Chicago, IL
- 2023 Interim Meeting: November 11-14 in Washington, DC



From left to right: Barry M. Czeisler, MD, MS (delegate); Eva K. Ritzl, MD, FAAN (alternate); Mark J. Milstein, MD, FAAN (chair); Shannon M. Kilgore, MD, FAAN (vicechair); and Ankita Brahmaroutu, MD (alternate, Resident and Fellow Section delegate). Not pictured: Jonathan Santoro, MD (delegate, Young Physician Section delegate)