Dear Representatives and Senators,

We are writing representing physicians across the U.S. who provide multidisciplinary care to people living with Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS). We want to bring to your attention that Medicare reimbursement for multidisciplinary care is inadequate and compromises our ability to provide essential care to people living with ALS. We urge your support for the <u>ALS Better Care Act</u> (H.R. 5663/S.3258), which will provide a modest supplemental, facility-based payment to bridge the shortfall of Medicare reimbursement for multidisciplinary care.

ALS is a devastating, progressive neurological disease with no cure and very few treatments. It is characterized by progressive degeneration of nerve cells in the spinal cord and brain. People living with ALS lose the ability to move, are likely to fall and eventually become wheelchair-dependent and completely paralyzed. They also lose the ability to swallow, breathe, and complete activities of daily living as the disease progresses. Without multidisciplinary care, vulnerable people living with ALS are more likely to require more costly care such as emergency room visits, hospitalizations, and nursing home care.

Multidisciplinary care is comprehensive support provided by specialized ALS clinics with physicians and other health care professionals providing integrated services to patients — including physical, respiratory, and speech therapy as well as mental health providers and neurologists. Medical evidence demonstrates that ALS multidisciplinary care improves quality of life and survival, and the American Academy of Neurology deems this to be a central care measure for ALS.

At present, ALS multidisciplinary care services provided in a clinic are not adequately reimbursable under Medicare. As a result, most ALS centers are forced to either curtail multidisciplinary care, serve fewer patients, or rely on philanthropic support to provide quality care. While this is a problem for all ALS clinics, it is a particular problem for clinics in rural areas or disadvantaged urban settings where the need is great, but there are few resources.

Patients, families, and caregivers can be left hopeless as they look to their physicians and care teams to ease the effects of this fatal disease. As physicians, we know how to help, but the services we can provide are hampered by inadequate Medicare reimbursement for ALS multidisciplinary care. It is critical to the health of people living with ALS and their families that Congress pass the ALS Better Care Act.

The ALS Better Care Act would amend the Medicare statute to create a facility-based, supplemental payment, beginning in 2025, to qualified health care organizations that provide qualified multidisciplinary ALS-related services not otherwise reimbursed under Medicare. Patients, who already have a significant cost-sharing burden, would not be asked to cost share for

the supplemental payment. This will allow ALS physicians to focus on care and building outstanding multidisciplinary programs rather than curtailing multidisciplinary care.

We all look forward to the day when ALS is no longer the devasting disease it is now. In the meantime, we have a responsibility to ensure that we prioritize, fund, and provide the best care possible for Medicare beneficiaries with ALS.

We applaud the work done in recent years by Congress to help meet the needs of ALS patients and their loved ones and stress the necessity of continued momentum on this front.

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Please co-sponsor the ALS Better Care Act.

Sincerely,

Alabama Minnesota

David L. White Amber Erickson
Kathleen Smith Nathan Staff
Katherine Teigen

Arizona
Sri Raghav Sista
Georgios Manousakis

Anne Hatch David Walk

Shafeeq Ladha
Missouri
Stephen Johnson
Erik Ensrud
Iryna Muzyka
William Arnold
California
Jaime Basnett

Viktoriya Irodenko
Namita A. Goyal

Vovanti Jones
Robert Bucelli

Laura Rosow North Carolina

Jill Ann Goslinga Benjamin Rix Brooks

Swathy Chandrashekhar Jim Caress
Nanette C Joyce Leo McCluskey
Liat Rabizadeh Richard Bedlack

Liberty Jenkins

Nebraska

Mark Terrelonge
Said R Beydoun
Catherine Lomen-Hoerth

Elizabeth Hartman
Joseph A. Fernandes
Michael Pichler

Leila Darki Gary Pattee

Jonathan Katz
Priya Dhawan
Dominic Ferrey

New Hampshire
Elijah W Stommel

Florida
Tuan H. Vu
Michael Pulley
Michael Benatar
I-Hweii Amy Chen
Bjorn Oskarsson
Patricia Graese

Idaho

Jackie Whitesell

Illinois

Claire Heneghan Charles K. Abrams

Alix Jampol Sharon Veis

Alexander Garreau

Madhu Soni Colin Franz

Senda Ajroud-Driss Brittany Hitson

Glenn Harris

Meghan Deplaris Kellie Reynolds

Lisa Wolfe

Emma Schmidt Dominique Kosk

Laura Freveletti Raymond Roos

Kristin Larsen

John M Coleman III Candace James

Ashley Kochman April Szymanski Caroline Lipic

Richard Wlodarski

Indiana

Robert Pascuzzi

Kentucky

Keri McKenney Martin E Brown New Jersey

Josette Alquitran Ellen Anne Morse Mary Sedarous Florian P Thomas

Jonathan Tiu Lori Rehling Dora Leung

New Mexico
Jonathan Cauchi
Cynthia Olivas

New York

Hiroshi Mitsumoto Stephen N Scelsa Eufrosina Young Erin Manning Ikjae Lee Neil Shneider

Ohio

Rebecca M Kuenzler

Oregon

Nicholas Olney Lauren Brown

Pennsylvania Alison Walsh Alissa Romano

Terry Heiman-Patterson

Anahita Deboo Tawfiq Al-Lahham Lyle W. Ostrow Xiaowei Su

Elizabeth Fletman Rebecca Hsu Gema Giler

Rhode Island

Lauren Elman

Vincent LaBarbera

Edward J. Kasarskis

Louisiana

Kristin M Johnson Ehtesham Khalid David Darragh

Massachusetts
Sabrina Paganoni
Mark Garret
James D. Berry
Merit Cudkowicz

Maine

John A. Taylor

Maryland

Brent T. Harris

Michigan Abbas Jowkar Paul Twydell

Ximena Arcila-Londono

Stephen Goutman Karyn Kuzniar South Carolina

Katherine Ruzhansky

Texas

Carlayne Jackson Lydia Sharp Stanley H. Appel Daragh Heitzman Tonya Hitschmann HimaBindu Iyyapu Ericka Portley Greene

Karen Toennis Sheetal Shroff

Virginia

Kelly Gwathmey Gordon Smith Neel Dixit Oihua Fan

Thomas Chelimsky

Xinli Du

Matthew Elliott

Washington Greg Carter Michael Weiss Nassim Rad

West Virgina
Sara M. Hoten

Wisconsin

Nassima N Baba-Ahmed Fertikh

Paul E. Barkhaus Dominic Fee Doris Lozano